Go to Home Page el Centro STAR en español

about us

home/calendar

resources

event

Event Archive | Shared Resources (General)

Women in Recovery
STAR Center Teleconference, March 29, 2006 at

7:00 PM ET, 6:00 PM CST, 5:00 PM MST, 4:00 PM PST

This presentation will provide an overview of recovery perspectives on how peer-operated
programs can best meet the gender specific needs of women of color.

Download an audio file [MP3, 7.53mb] or read a complete transcript [PDF, 119.47kb].

After the panelists' presentations, participants will have an opportunity to ask questions and offer their own perspectives. The only equipment needed in order to participate in this national teleconference is access to a telephone. This call is free of charge!

Teleconference Guest Speakers

  • Celia Brown is a Recipient Affairs Specialist for the Bureau of Recipient Affairs at the New York City Field Office, New York State Office of Mental Health. In this position, she is responsible for providing technical assistance and support to peer specialist and consumers in New York. Celia facilitates training to staff and recipients on self-help, wellness and recovery approached in community mental health agencies. She is committed to educating and promoting cultural relevant strategies for consumers of color. Celia is also co-founder of the National People of Color Consumers Survivor Network and has served as Chair of the Cultural Competency Sub-Committee at the 2005 Alternatives Conference. She has presented and consulted nationally on self-help, peer counseling, advocacy, trauma, women's issues and cultural competency. Celia is a proud mother of a ten-year-old son.
  • Gloria Grijalva-Gonzales currently serves on SAMHSA’s Administration for Women Service. She is the Director of the “House of Glory” – a women’s faith based ministry project (targeting at women of color). She is a substance abuse counselor for San Joaquin County Behavioral Health Services. She also serves on the National Trauma Center Committee and serves as a national Trauma Champion. She has presented and contracted numerous times for all the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Service Administration (SAMHSA) centers: (CSAT) Center for Mental Health Services, (CSAT) Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, (CSAP) Center for Substance Abuse Prevention along with (HHS) Health & Human Services - Office of Women’s Health and the Surgeons Generals office. Gloria’s passion lies in informing, training and working with women in recovery from mental illness, substance abuse and trauma. She is in her 17th yr. of recovery and continues her commitment to the betterment of her family and other women and their children in the community and at the national level.

Visit the Recovering Together archive

Visit the STAR Center Event archive

Find resources by community:

Links to resources in languages other than English.

about us | home/calendar | resources